Skip to main content

Shelley Noble: Shelley Noble

Writes mysteries as Shelley Freydont and women’s fiction as Shelley Noble.
Author-ized!

Introduction

Shelley Noble

Featured

September 2012

Photo

Shelley Noble
Photo © Shelley Noble.

Contact Information

Discover More

Biography

Shelley Noble is the pseudonym of Shelley Freydont, author of the Katie McDonald and Lindy Haggerty mystery series, and the upcoming Liv Montgomery, Celebration Bay Festival Mysteries, Foul Play at the Fair (Berkeley Prime Crime, Sept. 2012). She has written several romance novels and her books have been translated into eight languages. Her first women’s fiction novel, Beach Colors, written as Shelley Noble, was published by William Morrow in June 2012. A former professional dancer and choreographer, she most recently worked on the films, Mona Lisa Smile and The Game Plan. Shelley is a member of Sisters-in-Crime, Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, and Liberty States Fiction Writers. She has two children and lives near the New Jersey shore. In her spare time she loves to discover new beaches and indulge her passion for lighthouses and vintage carousels.

Interviews

What are you reading?  

First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen. 

What's on your nightstand?

At the Water's Edge, Sarah Gruen. The Gilded Hour, Sara Donati

Where do you go to get inspired?

Down to the beach.

What's something that surprised you recently (in a good way)?

Sat down at a restaurant last night, nodded at a couple at the next table and spent the evening in delightful conversation.  Small pleasures.

Where do you write?

In my office which is now at one end of my very long living room instead of a separate room, which has been a huge learning curve. At least it is all white and the social area is dark espresso brown which helps to keep me anchored.

What/who makes you laugh? Why?

My friends.  We have a blast, lift each other up, and let it rip.  The Big Bang, great chemistry and timing. Good lines, clever animals, adventure.

Favorite fictional character ever?

There are so many for different reasons.  Dickens's Scrooge who has a fabulous character arc from dark and lonely to  a world of possibilities.

What are you working on?

Just turned in a darker than usual for me women's fiction and am recovering from that while working on a synopsis for my third historical Gilded Age mystery.  And waiting to begin editing next summer's releases

Reviews

On Breakwater Bay:

"A story of stripped identities, Breakwater Bay examines the power of family and the importance of shared history. Noble immerses the reader in idyllic Newport, and its undeniable charm and unpredictable coastline serve as the perfect backdrop for Meri's discovery. Fans of Mary Ellen Taylor and Grace Greene will love Meri's compelling quest to regain her sense of self. This tender, romantic novel is a perfect beach read."
—Booklist

On Stargazey Point:

"Richly layered, this should appeal to fans of large-cast southern reads."
—Booklist

On Beach Colors:

"Noble draws readers effortlessly into the tender drama of Nick and Margaux's romance, and the multiple stories of loss and rediscovered trust will delight readers looking for a beach read with substance."
—Publishers Weekly

"Readers will easily fall into the rhythms of Crescent Cove, populated by an entertaining, endearing cast of characters. Readers will also be rooting for a young, ambitious woman caught between competing life choices, who discovers the healing power of family, friends, and home."
—Booklist

Featured Titles